SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / show texture in viewport?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 20-05-2004, 12:17 AM   #1
Binabik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default show texture in viewport?

hi folks, somewhere along the line my brain has forgotten some of the basics.

I can get the texture on the object to show up in the viewport, eg the 'color' map.

say i want to have a look at where the displacement map node is on the object, how do i make that one show up in the view port on the object instead of the color one?

thanks guys.

Adam
Binabik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2004, 02:54 PM   #2
I-Iybrid
Simply Maya OG
 
I-Iybrid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Queensbury NY, US A
Posts: 1,438
Thanks: 2
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Default

Hit the 6 key. 4 is wireframe, 5 is shaded, 6 is colored/textured, and 7 is lighting.
__________________
- Hybrid
I-Iybrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2004, 10:12 PM   #3
Binabik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hi there thanks for the reply but you misread the question.
I can already get textures to show up, ie at the moment, the 'color' texture shows up.
I need to know how to choose WHICH layer of texture shows up
ie, if i want to view the bump map, or the displacement map, or the spec map, in the viewport, on the object, instead of the color map.

thanks.
Adam
Binabik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2004, 11:04 PM   #4
owmyi
Registered User
 
owmyi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Somewhere out there.
Posts: 127
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

As far as I know, the only way to get things like the bump and spec map to show up in the viewport real-time is with the High-res mode turned on, but it's only in version 6.
owmyi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2004, 11:30 PM   #5
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

In the shader attributes, under hardware texture you can set which channel is displayed (color, bump etc.)
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2004, 01:02 AM   #6
Binabik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ah ha!!

thanks dann, you're the mann
Binabik is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.