SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lighting & Rendering, Dynamics & Effects, Texturing / Dynamics & Special Effects / Position Attribute in Expression Question (from Learning Maya Dynamics 5)
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 20-06-2004, 06:46 AM   #1
Gun-Kata
Registered User
 
Gun-Kata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 68
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Position Attribute in Expression Question (from Learning Maya Dynamics 5)

float $nz = 3* noise (nurbsPlane1ParticleShape.position*.1 + time);
nurbsPlane1ParticleShape.position = nurbsPlane1ParticleShape.position0 + <<0,$nz, 0>>;


Hi, that expression is used to control the y value of each particle in a grid of particles that has been parented to a nurbs plane. The result looks kind of like cloth blowing in the wind. What I don't understand is how the part that is in red can possibly be used to assign each particle its own y coordinate. Isn't position a vector attribute? How then can it yield a scalar value for $nz? And furthermore, how is it that it yields a different y value for each particle in the field?


Last edited by Gun-Kata : 20-06-2004 at 06:49 AM.
Gun-Kata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2004, 01:12 PM   #2
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

The answer lies in the second line. The scalar value is used in a vector <<0, $nz, 0>>. Why does it yield to a different y value? Well, because the vector is added to the initial position of a given particle.
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2004, 06:14 PM   #3
Gun-Kata
Registered User
 
Gun-Kata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 68
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks! What I still don't understand though is how an equation that uses a vector quantity with three distinct numerical components (nurbsPlane1ParticleShape.position) can yield a single decimal numerical value (float $nz).

If, for example, nurbsPlane1ParticleShape.position is equal to <<2,3,4>> and that value is then inserted into the equation, then shouldn't the equation also yield a vector quantity?



ps. Nice Quake III model btw.
Gun-Kata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2004, 01:57 AM   #4
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Ah... Now I see what you mean. It is because of automatic type conversion. In this case the .position vector is automatically converted to a float by calculating a magnitude (length) of it.

These two will yield to the same result:

float $nz = <<1, 2, 3>>;
float $nz = mag(<<1, 2, 3>>);
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2004, 02:35 AM   #5
Gun-Kata
Registered User
 
Gun-Kata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 68
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by kbrown
Ah... Now I see what you mean. It is because of automatic type conversion. In this case the .position vector is automatically converted to a float by calculating a magnitude (length) of it.

These two will yield to the same result:

float $nz = <<1, 2, 3>>;
float $nz = mag(<<1, 2, 3>>);
Now I get it. Thanks!
Gun-Kata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2004, 07:06 AM   #6
mind_raper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Pakistan
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

kool explaination
Kbrown...

......
__________________
Learn the Rules|Then|
Burn the Rules Book
mind_raper is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 10:27 AM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 10:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 02:45 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.