SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Technical Issues / Can't acces items in Help menu
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 21-06-2004, 02:41 AM   #1
Gun-Kata
Registered User
 
Gun-Kata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 68
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Can't acces items in Help menu

Hi,

I don't know what I did, but when I try to access "Contents and Search" or "Index" or anything on the Help menu that has a local source, I get a message that Maya can't find the page. Does anyone know how to set it so I can see the stuff in the Help menu again?
Gun-Kata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2004, 05:41 PM   #2
dave_baer
Moderator
 
dave_baer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Plantation, Florida
Posts: 1,568
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Crap! I know this one. It happened to me and I had to change a file name or something. Since I only ever had to do it once, I can't remember what I did to fix it. I'll figure it out and get back to you on it. :p
__________________
Dave Baer
Professor of Digital Arts
Digital Media Arts College
Boca Raton, Florida
dbaer@dmac.edu
dave_baer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2004, 02:10 PM   #3
kennez
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: England - and proud of it!
Posts: 175
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The same has just happened to me. Any ideas yet?
kennez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2004, 02:59 PM   #4
Zeromachina
Registered User
 
Zeromachina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

im just going to add my voice to this as well, no matter what i try i can't get help to start up, the service is running but it keeps giving the localhost error.
any help here would be awesome!

zeromachina
__________________
.:Humanity is a virus, help find a cure:.
Zeromachina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2004, 03:54 PM   #5
Zeromachina
Registered User
 
Zeromachina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

well got it working, and its a really small and easy fix. during instillation i had norton firewall say that java was trying to access the internet. this was a java.exe in the mays dir, so i allowed it and volia! after everything was done i had access to my help files again.
so just make sure that your firewall isnt blocking the java app that maya needs.

zeromachina
__________________
.:Humanity is a virus, help find a cure:.
Zeromachina is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.