Maya 2020 fundamentals - modelling the real world
Get halfway through a model and find it's an unworkable mess? Can't add edge loops where you need them? Can't subdivide a mesh properly? If any of this sounds familiar check this course out.
# 1 21-06-2004 , 10:06 PM

Polys or Sub D

Just starting to get into Maya and after a few tutorials I seem to be getting the hang of it some what. So my question is what really is the difference between polys and sub Ds in the end? The modeling I am planning on doing will be geared more to photo realism and animation down the road as I learn. So I would like to get started properly. I plan on doing rigged figures and mechanical devices such as tanks and vehicles. So what would be the best way to approach this and why. Remember I am a newbie so use small words user added image.

Thanks

# 2 22-06-2004 , 09:01 PM
Lead Modeler - Framestore
Right I'll try and explain this as best I can. Now Polys and SubD can actually be part of the same model. You can basically generate a SubD surface from a Poly mesh (preferably Lo res to begin with) when converting to SubD you can have a choice of two options, you can disply the proxy object (lo res poly object) or you can leave it as it is and use the right mouse button over the Sub D to dispaly your lo object cage over the top. And also display vertices and faces and edges too.