SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / blur reflections?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-07-2004, 04:37 PM   #1
tiz
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 83
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default blur reflections?

is there a way in maya to blur reflections?
thanks in advance.

tiz
tiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2004, 04:38 PM   #2
roach105
Subscriber
 
roach105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: T.O Baby!
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Mental Ray will do it.
roach105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2004, 04:57 PM   #3
tiz
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 83
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks roach. how do i get mental ray?

tiz
tiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2004, 05:31 PM   #4
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

it comes with Maya 5 and 6
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2004, 05:50 PM   #5
roach105
Subscriber
 
roach105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: T.O Baby!
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Its part of Maya but if you have Maya 5 and Older this option was not available. You need Maya 6 to create blurry reflections.
roach105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2004, 05:50 PM   #6
tiz
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 83
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

got 4.5
tiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2004, 01:37 PM   #7
tiz
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 83
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

so does someone know another way to blur reflections in maya?
thanks.

tiz
tiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2004, 08:44 AM   #8
owmyi
Registered User
 
owmyi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Somewhere out there.
Posts: 127
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You could manually put the blurs in using a program like photoshop after you render it.
owmyi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2004, 10:56 PM   #9
tiz
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 83
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yeah... you're right. i suppose that would be nice if there would be a possibility to render reflections in a seperate layer... but that can't be done... or can it?

tiz
tiz is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.