SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Modeling / Modeling / Terminating edges
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-08-2004, 01:50 PM   #1
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Terminating edges

Starting working on a model and as usual the biggest problem i normally face is terminating edges. I've attached a pic. On the right you can see the splits i've created needed to pull out the shape i want. I've gone far beyond this model and got the basic model finished but the splits you see i've continued all the way around the model. It's going to be quite a highly detailed model but i have so much detail there when using subd's it's just way too heavy. Already for just one half and it's not completed i'm at 3360 faces before converting to Subd's. I can't see where else i can termiante the edges other than taking them all the way around the model like i have without creating a load of tri's.

This is going to be rendered in Mental ray using FG and GI.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	edges.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	26.8 KB
ID:	16532  
mrmacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2004, 03:01 PM   #2
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

why do you need all those edges? they arent doing anything?!
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2004, 03:10 PM   #3
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I would ask the same question.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2004, 03:26 PM   #4
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

All the edges are there for a reason, as i said, i'm much farther on with the model than in the image, i've just gone back to an old scene file to see how i can maybe redyce the geometery. The pic attached shows the reason for the edges.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	edges2.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	21.5 KB
ID:	16533  
mrmacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2004, 03:32 PM   #5
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

This picture shows better how heavy the geometery is becoming. In the area circled i have more finer detail to add and it's so dense. Just don't know if there's a simpler way to do this.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	edges3.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	20.3 KB
ID:	16534  
mrmacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2004, 03:52 PM   #6
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Well, I think I'd just let them hang myself.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2004, 04:46 PM   #7
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Mike's right, they're not doing any harm persay. You'd probably spend a lot of time terminating them and then not notice a difference... is it worth it?
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2004, 04:48 PM   #8
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

You mean hang as in the first image? If i convert to subd's with them just ending there the surface looks a little nasty.
mrmacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2004, 05:08 PM   #9
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

You might want to extend them a little away from the major deforming parts, but I wouldn't worry about carrying it throughout the model.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2004, 06:14 PM   #10
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

ok Mike, thanks. That's helps a lot
mrmacca is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.