SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / How do I combine maya with Digital Video
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-08-2004, 08:39 PM   #1
cjdance
Subscriber
 
cjdance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canterbury, UK
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How do I combine maya with Digital Video

Please can anyone suggest any ideas how to combine a maya animation with a video scene, for example, an animated character pushing a real life object such as a book.

Im just looking for a starting point so I can do some research. Ive heard that I may have to use After Effects to achieve this. Is this true and is there any other way?!

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Please email me directly with ANY suggestions!

Thanks guys
Chris
cjdance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2004, 12:52 AM   #2
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Sure there is.... Maya Live in the Unlimited version is just for doing what you need to do

-Emo
Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2004, 07:25 PM   #3
cjdance
Subscriber
 
cjdance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canterbury, UK
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you!
This looks like just what I need. Its funny, I never even knew this part of maya existed!

Well on with my project and trying to work out how to use this hidden part of Maya!
Thanks again! :o)
cjdance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2004, 10:46 PM   #4
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

well first of all do you have Unlimited?

if you do... make sure the live plug in is started... to check.. go to Window-> I think it was general mangers and then Plug in Manager..then look for LIVE and start it...

then it should appear in the menu where you pick Modeling/Rendering/Animation and so on

-Emo
Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2004, 12:18 PM   #5
cjdance
Subscriber
 
cjdance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canterbury, UK
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes I do have unlimited and Ive managed to start the live plug-in.

Thanks again for your help!

Chris
cjdance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2004, 06:38 AM   #6
Anhslaught
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 490
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You dont need Live really.(sounds cool) You just got to render your project out in tiff or tga files. That way it will read in after affects, shake, or whatever compositing softwares you have, plus it will have an alpha channel so it wouldnt be transparent, unlike jpg files. You'd have to model a replacement object of whatever object the model is going to push then replace it with a real object later on in a compositing software. Thats the way i know it... maybe "live" has an easier way of doing it?

Last edited by Anhslaught : 07-08-2004 at 06:42 AM.
Anhslaught is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2004, 03:15 PM   #7
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Well, "live" allows you to record the video/film first, then set up appropriate match points for your 3d object to follow. AE on the other hand allows you import Maya camera data so using both together isn't out of the question.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2004, 05:21 PM   #8
cjdance
Subscriber
 
cjdance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canterbury, UK
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Live seems the easiest to learn and use so I think Im going to try it that way. Why do more work than I need to!

Not too sure on the advantages and disadvantages of Live and AE, so will have to go with my gut instinct...
cjdance is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 10:27 AM
Inline video David Members Lounge 5 09-12-2010 10:40 PM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 08:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 10:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 02:45 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.