SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Problem with Movie Texture
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-08-2004, 12:52 AM   #1
shrimp daddy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy Problem with Movie Texture

Hey Guys,

I'm having problems with adding a movie texture to a polygon plane. I have a scene with a character sitting in his easy chair watching TV. I would like to apply an animated texture to the TV screen. I've tried avi, qt and a targa image sequence, but with no luck. I would appreciate any help.

Thanks
shrimp daddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2004, 12:56 AM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

.avi's usually work. Make sure you turn on the Use Frame Extension attribute for the Movie file.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2004, 04:09 AM   #3
shrimp daddy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I opened up my movie file attribute editor and loaded my avi movie file under file attributes, and can't find Turn on Use Frame Extension anywhere. Am I in the wrong area?
shrimp daddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2004, 04:47 AM   #4
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

It should be in the movie file attributes right under where you browse for the file.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2004, 01:57 PM   #5
shrimp daddy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Attached is the actual screen shot of the movie attribute editor, and I canít seem to locate the Turn on Use Frame Extension. You said it is under the file browser?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	movie_file_screen.jpg
Views:	154
Size:	20.7 KB
ID:	16602  
shrimp daddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2004, 02:41 PM   #6
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

What version of Maya are you running?

I believe you'll need to check "Use Image Sequence" and the keyframe the Image Number box to play the video.

Later versions of Maya made the process a bit easier.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2004, 05:59 PM   #7
shrimp daddy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I am running MAYA 6. When I loaded the avi the image does not show up on the object. I have hardware texturing on.

When I select Use Image Sequence the Image Number opens up, what do I type in? What does Frame offset do?

What steps do I follow to get this thing to work? Is this a bug in maya? Does the movie texture actually work?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	use sequence.jpg
Views:	147
Size:	22.3 KB
ID:	16605  
shrimp daddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2004, 06:06 PM   #8
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I have a tutorial at my website (link below) about this. Maybe it'll help.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2004, 07:18 PM   #9
shrimp daddy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for all of your help, I figured it out. I found out that Maya was not reading the avi codec, so I went into premiere and changed it into an uncompressed avi. I guess MAYA is very picky about compressed avi's. Hey, you learn something new about MAYA everyday.


Have a good one!
shrimp daddy is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 06:26 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.