SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Technical Issues / Viewport slowdown???
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-09-2004, 02:03 PM   #1
ade90054
Registered User
 
ade90054's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: England
Posts: 143
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Viewport slowdown???

Hi all,
Does anybody have a soloution for this little problem? I load my scene and all seems well, rotating round the viewport seems fine, then i turn on the textures (6 key) after this the viewport becomes extemley slow! After playing around with a few things i found that if i go into the shading menu and turn off the filtering in hardware shading all seems normal again aside from my textures looking horrible What could be causing this, my card is a Quadro FX 3000.
Any help would be cool, thanks.
Jimmer
ade90054 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2004, 02:21 PM   #2
dirack
Registered User
 
dirack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cage #42 of the Asylum
Posts: 396
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Perhaps you could tell us what the scene contains... and how much ram you have? Sometimes Maya can run with a lot of faces and vertics slowly, but that effect is (depends on the texture) sometimes doubled or more when you turn the shading on in the view.
dirack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2004, 02:25 PM   #3
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

How big are your textures?

If you have a really heavy scene, displaying textures is going to slow it down. Displaying lighting even more so.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2004, 02:29 PM   #4
ade90054
Registered User
 
ade90054's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: England
Posts: 143
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The scene I use makes no difference, i've tried it with only a simple plane with the same result, as for ram i have 1gig.
Also i'm not using any lighting, just the default?????
I'm stumped
ade90054 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2004, 02:59 PM   #5
dirack
Registered User
 
dirack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cage #42 of the Asylum
Posts: 396
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Try updating your video card, directx, the whole bunch (and try to make sure you have enough spare room in your central disk (C:?), but then other programs run slow as well...). The first usually works. Hope this helps!
dirack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2004, 10:18 PM   #6
Soracia
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

This might seem a little simplistic, but don't forget to change your monitor refresh rate.
Soracia is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.