SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 17-09-2004, 10:41 PM   #1
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Wireframe on shaded

how do i render a model so it looks like its been shaded but has the wireframe on it as well using the maya software renderer?
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2004, 10:56 PM   #2
dirack
Registered User
 
dirack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cage #42 of the Asylum
Posts: 396
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

My idea would be to do it in post editing, with a rendered view and over that a screenshot (with transparancy), but I'm not sure how to do it with just maya... you should have to do it in a texture then....
dirack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2004, 02:09 AM   #3
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Theres a couple of ways to go about it. You can do this with the hardware render, and still get AA. Light afects are more limeted though. Or you can use the UV snapshot with AA on it, as a texture. < old school. There are also some ways to get it with the vector render though I haven't done that my self yet.
Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2004, 08:31 AM   #4
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

vector render gave me the best results for this, the problem is occluding the hidden wireframe mesh. Another way to do it is to:

make your model have a constant balck shader on it. Turn on shaded wireframe mode, change your viewport colour to black, turn on smooth wireframe, then select all of your model (so that your wireframe turns white) and then playblast at the highest res you can, downsize the playblast in photoshop to the size you want to "tighten" the image up.

That's how I did all of the wireframes for the Thunderbirds companion book.

Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2004, 08:38 AM   #5
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Hardware render does have some AA funtion with it. It jitters the same frame a couple of times and interaly composites it. Works ok.
Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.