SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Rendering the object and it's wireframe
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 26-09-2004, 03:14 PM   #1
eran
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Rendering the object and it's wireframe

Hi all
I've seen some of you render an object with it's wireframe using plugins.
Does anyone know of a way of accomplishing that with maya 6 without any plugins, or with some free plugins?
eran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2004, 11:32 PM   #2
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default

Maya Vector will do it.
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2004, 10:09 AM   #3
eran
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I've never used it. can you please specify the options i need to mark in order to get that rendering?!
eran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2004, 03:30 PM   #4
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,305
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

This is the way I do it.

Its a tut from alias http://www.alias.com/eng/community/t...uestid=490681. hopefully you can get it, its a bronze tut with their new level system.

Just register for bronze the content is free from what I know.
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2004, 05:21 PM   #5
eran
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks. I followed his tutrial and it's o.k, but i was kinda hoping there's a simpler way. In 3d studio you just apply a wire material and that's it. about 2 or 3 mouse clicks.
Anyway, i've found another way, which is a bit resource consuming.
If anyone's interested, follow these steps:
1.Create your object (i did it using polygons).
2. Go to Edit polygons>Texture>Automatic mapping.
3.Open the Texture editor through Window>UV Texture editor.
4. in the texture editor, go to Polygons> UV snapshot.
5. determine the reslution and save the file.
6. Now apply a material to your object and assign the snapshot as a color map.
7. Render and you've got a render of your object with a wireframe on.
The resolution of the map will determine how good the wireframe looks.
Not the best of solutions out there but it works...
Thanks for all those who helped
eran is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.