SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / is there a way to TRIM polygons??
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-10-2004, 09:02 PM   #1
danrocha
Subscriber
 
danrocha's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Campinas - SP - Brazil
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question is there a way to TRIM polygons??

In this link there is a screen capture of my situation. I have these two polygons which intersect.

http://nier.com.br/arquivos/temp/trim.gif

What I want to do is to trim those small parts off, so that I can get a sharp corner.

It would be the same thing as trimming two lines in Autocad to make a corner.

Is there any way to do it in-a-fly? Or do I need to do it manually?

Thank you very much

Daniel
__________________
<font size="1"><strong>"The hardest thing to see is what is in front of your eyes"
<em>Goethe</em></strong></font>
danrocha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2004, 12:47 AM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I think you'd have the best results by doing it manually.

Might could try a boolean merge (not correct name... can't remember offhand).
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2004, 01:41 AM   #3
goosemage
Registered User
 
goosemage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I think you mean the union boolean.

Is it two objects intersecting? If it is one object, you could duplicate it, then scale it so that the inner edge of the duplicate is on the outside edge of the origional. Then use the difference boolean to to take off the corners. This would be useful if you need to take off more than one corner.
goosemage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2004, 04:38 AM   #4
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Right, Union.

Even when doing a union, though, it'll most likely require some kind of editing afterwards.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2004, 06:52 AM   #5
Tim_LIVID
Subscriber
 
Tim_LIVID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Harwich, UK
Posts: 1,195
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Looks like spliting the faces and combining them is the best way to go.
__________________
"You can live for yourself today -- or help build tomorrow for everyone" _LIVID

Optical Minefield
My Blog
Tim_LIVID is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2004, 01:43 PM   #6
danrocha
Subscriber
 
danrocha's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Campinas - SP - Brazil
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lightbulb Here is what I did....

In the end, after you inpired me (thank you all!!), here's what I did:

1) I duplicated both polygons

2) Used Boolean > Intersection so that I got a small piece which would serve as a "cap" for my corner, with the correct angle:



3) I then moved the end vertices from both polygons so that they would "hide" inside the cap:




4) And then got my final result:



I believe that's not the best way to do it. I guess I could perfect the end result by trimming the end of both polys using a copy of the cap for each one (then using Boolean > Difference), and then unite the three resulting objects.

But that worked for my needs....

Thank you all for your help.

Daniel
__________________
<font size="1"><strong>"The hardest thing to see is what is in front of your eyes"
<em>Goethe</em></strong></font>
danrocha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2004, 08:13 PM   #7
twisteddragon33
Registered User
 
twisteddragon33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 1,945
Thanks: 0
Thanked 45 Times in 45 Posts
Default

could you just do the boolean intersection, then extrude the 2 faces at a right angle?
__________________
________________________
AIM: SublimeDragon33
Catch me if i'm on. Always up for a chat.
e-mail: sublimedragon33@gmail.com
twisteddragon33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2004, 01:55 PM   #8
danrocha
Subscriber
 
danrocha's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Campinas - SP - Brazil
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thumbs up

yes, tha could be done, with great results....

but in my case it was interesting to keep these intersections for later use!!
__________________
<font size="1"><strong>"The hardest thing to see is what is in front of your eyes"
<em>Goethe</em></strong></font>
danrocha is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting angolare and round polygons together? Red_Roxxor Modeling 19 04-02-2011 02:50 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.