SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-11-2004, 06:54 PM   #1
1stuffy
Subscriber
 
1stuffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Ann Arbor, MI - USA
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Render wireframe on shaded

On simplylightwave.com is a tutorial on how to render a picture with the wireframe showing on shaded object. How do I get this effect in Maya?

S.
1stuffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2004, 11:16 AM   #2
maxee
Registered User
 
maxee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Smile Wireframe rendering in maya

One way to do it (in most of the cases it works) is to take an UV snapshot from the UV editor and put that snapshot as a texture in the color channel.You can change its color and give it a little glow value (0.1) to make it more shiny. Then u have to put the same texture in the transparency channel and thats it! Try to render it an check the results :-)
u may adjust the UV points in some models to look like the wireframe


PD: I dont know if it will work on complex geometry models, if anyone knows another method, please post it
maxee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2004, 12:41 PM   #3
ayelar
Registered User
 
ayelar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 107
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I've just been using Maya's Vector renderer.... does that not always work?
ayelar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2004, 07:35 PM   #4
Abc7
Registered User
 
Abc7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Wireframe rendering in maya

Quote:
Originally posted by maxee
One way to do it (in most of the cases it works) is to take an UV snapshot from the UV editor and put that snapshot as a texture in the color channel.You can change its color and give it a little glow value (0.1) to make it more shiny. Then u have to put the same texture in the transparency channel and thats it! Try to render it an check the results :-)
u may adjust the UV points in some models to look like the wireframe


PD: I dont know if it will work on complex geometry models, if anyone knows another method, please post it
u r very smart
Abc7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2004, 08:51 AM   #5
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

search the forums this question has been asked loads of times and I have posted an answer on another thread that should help you out.

:bandit:

Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 06:04 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.