SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Maya F1 help not working
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 28-12-2004, 02:27 PM   #1
azimuth
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 119
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Maya F1 help not working

A quick question, each time I press F1 or go to Help -> Maya Help..., maya simply loads up my internet browser and tries to load this url - http://localhost:4446/Maya6.0/en_US/index.html. At which point everything comes to a halt since I'm certainly not running a web server on that port, and I'm greeted by a lovely "could not connect to remote server" error box

Does anyone know where Maya keeps its help files after a normal install, are they in a format I can do anything with - pdf/html or something?

Cheers
azimuth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2004, 02:33 PM   #2
antiant
Subscriber
 
antiant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 462
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hi, they help files should be around the same address as this. Most of it compressed files, so its a bit of a pain, but its all there.

C:\Program Files\AliasWavefront\Maya5.0\docs\Documents\Maya5. 0\en_US
__________________
There's nothing normal about normals. In FACT i think the are abnormal.
antiant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2004, 05:13 PM   #3
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Also, you can try launching the help server through youtr start menu>Programs>Alias>Maya6>View Maya Docs
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2004, 08:51 PM   #4
azimuth
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 119
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Managed to get it working in the end.

Seems like I had disabled the Alias Documentation service (inside services.msc)

Loaded it up and everything worked first time.

Cheers for the pointers guys
azimuth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2004, 03:42 AM   #5
beyondjtu
Registered User
 
beyondjtu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: China
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thumbs up

Maybe It's the HTTP Proxy caused that problemy the F1 couldn't work.Because the Maya help is a local server.

several weeks ago this problem puzzled me too.Then I found that the HTTP Proxy makes troble.
__________________
Without Maya,I can do nothing!!
beyondjtu is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 10:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 08:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 10:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 02:45 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.