SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Undo Poly smooth ?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 30-12-2004, 05:04 PM   #1
pixelsoul
Subscriber
 
pixelsoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 307
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Undo Poly smooth ?

I want to go make some changes only i cleared it so i can't use the undo function, is there another function in the menu which can reverse the process ?
pixelsoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2004, 04:52 AM   #2
Anhslaught
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 490
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I don't think I understood this question. what did you mean by clearing it?
Anhslaught is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2004, 09:17 AM   #3
pixelsoul
Subscriber
 
pixelsoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 307
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i cleared the history so i can't use Ctrl+Z.. :bandit:
pixelsoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2004, 05:43 PM   #4
Anhslaught
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 490
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I never had problems undoing everytime I clear my history. Problems I do have is sometimes the hot keys don't work, so you got to do it manually. Maybe instead of clicking on cntrl Z, you can go up on the Edit menu, and click on the undo option. I usually have that menu open when cntrl Z doesnt work for me. I'm no wiz or anything so I don't know why it does that. If someone knows, I'd like to know.
Anhslaught is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2005, 06:22 AM   #5
antiant
Subscriber
 
antiant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 462
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

unfortantly, i think once you have smoothed, and del your history. There is no way of reverseing the process. You can do polygons, reduce function which might help, but it makes a mess of your model.
__________________
There's nothing normal about normals. In FACT i think the are abnormal.
antiant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2005, 07:08 PM   #6
Zagan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Could try converting it to nurbs or sub-divs.

The cartoon dog tute does this heaps of times fliping from nurbs to ploys over to sub-divs then back to polys then back to sub-div then back to nurbs.

Last edited by Zagan : 02-01-2005 at 07:13 PM.
Zagan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2005, 01:53 AM   #7
AgentCapt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i find it reassuring if when im making such a change to save the scene as "(scenename)temp" and see how it turns out that way if you cant undo and you dont like it you can just reloaded the original...
AgentCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2005, 02:30 AM   #8
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

This is a bit late but I just re-created your situation, created a complex object, then smoothed and deleted the history. Undo works fine. Also, like Ahnslaught mentioned, sometimes the hotkey doesn't work and you have to do it via the edit menu. Now, if you closed out your project then tried to do it after re-opening, you're obviously going to be out of luck.

A couple of future suggestions would be to a) go into the preferences and increase the number of undos (to like 50 or so) and b) in the file > save scene dialog box, tick the incremental save box and make the number whatever you want. Now, each time you save, maya will create a new file (up until you reach the limit you specified). This way you have files you can go back to if you mess up along the way (or if something gets corrupt, somehow).
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2005, 10:52 AM   #9
MixX
Subscriber
 
MixX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Billund, Denmark
Posts: 91
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I've found that Ctrl+Z doesn't work if I've accidentally switched Caps Lock on. Yup, simple as that. That might not be why you guys are having probz of course...
MixX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2005, 06:16 PM   #10
mussa
Registered User
 
mussa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i think that u can undo it with CPS Plug-in , there is in it a function that undo the smoothnes .

here is a link for the Plug
Cps
if u got questions on using it , u can write here , i will try my best to help u .

actually , it wont work i tryed it now it didn't effected .

Last edited by mussa : 04-01-2005 at 12:02 AM.
mussa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2005, 08:23 PM   #11
Anhslaught
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 490
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I had the same problem before almost. I smoothed my model to see how it looked, and then closed the software and then accidently saved it. It really sucked, so i went back to my last saved project and start over from there which wasnt that far away but still took a bit of time.
Anhslaught is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2005, 03:11 PM   #12
pixelsoul
Subscriber
 
pixelsoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 307
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hehe thx for the help anyways, just another lesson i guess lol save files under different names
pixelsoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2005, 05:33 PM   #13
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

You don't have to save under different names if you use incremental save.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2005, 11:51 AM   #14
alfabreeze
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Rome (Italy)
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

mmm... This thread must be the reason why I couldn't get any answer to my other one asking the same question :/

I took a couple of minutes to make a try...

If you delete History, the "undo" function covers even the "delete History" function (as it's been already said); so you can step back until your history's back too and go to "PolySmoothFace"->"Division" of the object and set back "0" where now is "1" or "2".
This, until the document stays opened and you've set a reasonable number of undo(es) in you pref.
As far as i could get, if you delete history, save the file, close it and reopen it, there's nothing left to do.

BUT: if you DON't delete history (at least after having smoothed), save your file, close it and reopen it, (even by quit and re-launch Maya!) you won't get any undo, but *still hold control over the "PolySmoothFace" values*!

Now, if all I wrote is true (and I believe it is), the question should turn in another shape:

"Is there a way (menu-function/script/or whatever) to prevent the function 'DeleteHistory' from deleting the 'PolySmoothFace' option?"

(Or, if you prefer, to "freeze", or "lock", the smoothing control in a way that is not affected by deleting history)?

cheers
ale

p.s.: I took a glance at the "CPS PlugIn" page and d/led it. I don't think it'll recover anything but it looks like an answer to my last question. Even if I'd prefer something way more 'Simply' ;-)
(Still not tested, btw...)...
__________________
If you can keep your head when all about you are losing theirs,
it's just possible you haven't grasped the situation.
alfabreeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2005, 01:52 PM   #15
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Try going into the hypergraph, viewing both up and downstream connections, and deleting the smooth node. As far as customizing the history goes, I'm sure it could be done as the extensibility of Maya's API is really what makes it most appealing.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.