Maya Training

Creating characters In Maya and Zbrush

Maya Training

Creating character renders in Maya 2017 and Arnold

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 02-01-2005, 12:06 AM   #1
siom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ascii format

Hi,

Is there any disadvantage in using ascii format. I have read that it takes longer to load in, but apart from that?

The reason I ask is that when Maya crashed it saved a backup in ascii format, when my original was in mb format. Now Maya won't let me save the file back to mb format.

Thanks.
siom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2005, 06:34 PM   #2
BobV
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I also save in .ma it shouldn't make a difference. You can change back to .mb by going to File>Save as (options) & selecting the .mb format
BobV is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2017 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.