SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Can I convert Maya 4 and Maya 6 project to Maya 5????????
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-01-2005, 10:28 PM   #1
mojo77
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Can I convert Maya 4 and Maya 6 project to Maya 5????????

I've got Maya 6 at home and I've been working on a project. But my college has Maya 5 and I need to work at college now.

I also have projects in Maya 4 as well, and I need to convert them to Maya 5 as well.

Any ideas???
mojo77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2005, 10:50 PM   #2
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default

4-5 just import it into 5.

For 6-5 you have to open up the file in note pad. look at the top:
it should say: requires maya "6.0";
or something else like that. the one with // in front of it you dont have to worry about. change the 6.0 to 5.0 so it would be:

requires maya "5.0";

You might lose some data. hardly anything noticable.


have fun!
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2005, 11:51 PM   #3
mojo77
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default tried opening it in notepad.....

like you suggested, but notepad only recognises text files and Maya is a Maya Binary File.

When I opened it in notepad I just got a whole page full of unintelligeable symbols with alot of squares mixed with letters.

Also, if I did manage to change it like you suggested, how would I save it as a Maya file, as notepad only saves as .txt files.

Any help is much appreciated!!
mojo77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2005, 11:54 PM   #4
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default

Even with a .mb I think you can still do it.

As for saving as a maya file, just in the name put a .mb or .ma insted of the .txt
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2005, 12:06 AM   #5
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

In order to edit the files in a text editor, you must save the Maya scene files as .MA files. .MB files cannot be edited in the same manner.
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.