Maya Training

Creating characters In Maya and Zbrush

Maya Training

Creating character renders in Maya 2017 and Arnold

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 11-01-2005, 12:19 AM   #1
MixX
Subscriber
 
MixX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Billund, Denmark
Posts: 91
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Cactus (or cactii)

Hiya guys...

I've decided to have my next project (a short "cartoon style" animation) in a desert environment, and for this purpose I need some cactuses (or whatever the plural of cactus is hehe).

The stem (or whatever) of the cactuses isn't a problem, but I'm having a problem with the spikes/needles. They're easy enough to make, but to get a good effect I need positively hundreds of cones, which makes for a very heavy model to work with. I can live with it if I can't get a better solution, but I would prefer something else.

So how would you guys go about creating a cactus? It's for a pre-rendered project, which will probably have some pretty close-up shots since the main characters are small humanoids who use the cactuses for houses. The style of the cactuses doesn't matter really since if someone has a good technique for getting "real looking" cactuses it shouldn't be too hard to get it looking cartoonish.

Any help appreciated

cheers,

MixX
MixX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2005, 12:29 AM   #2
Saiyan
Registered User
 
Saiyan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 441
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I would guess that you could use some fur options with some heavy tweaking....maybe really thinned out grass, just spit ballin.....the easiest would probably be a script, but if your not into that I would probably go the fur route.....really tweaked out fur options...hehe
Saiyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2005, 09:20 AM   #3
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

nurbs cone instances would be light and easy to do. Because they are instances they aren't heavy on the scene

Or you could use locators and run a script at render time to add a cone to each locator. That way you wouldn't have the cones in the scene all the time.

:bandit:

Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2017 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.