SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / insert key on a mac???
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 31-01-2005, 11:46 AM   #1
lmouflier
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default insert key on a mac???

Hi there

I seem to always come up with some very basic problem ...
I'm trying to duplicate two polygons (arm & leg) either side of the grid.
I have the duplicate option right (-1.0000in x...I think) but, to move my pivot into the middle of the grid I need to click insert on my keyboard and then x ... etc etc

What key do you press if you use Maya on a mac???

laurent
lmouflier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2005, 04:44 AM   #2
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

home
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2005, 07:50 AM   #3
lmouflier
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm using a mac ... home key is on a PC.
What is the equivalent of the Insert key on a PC keyboard ob a Mac keyboard?
lmouflier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2005, 03:55 PM   #4
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

huh? I'm looking at my mac keyboard's home key above the numeric keypad and wondering now why I have one. It's the insert key that my Mac doesn't have.

You could also use Modify-->Center pivot point

Anyone else with homeless mac keyboard?
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2005, 10:59 AM   #5
lmouflier
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Anyone else with homeless mac keyboard?

I do! : (
lmouflier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2005, 03:42 PM   #6
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

I'll see if I can find a work around short of getting a new keyboard. I'm in graphics shop with five powermac G4s and they all have the home but not the insert keys.... strange?
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2005, 09:08 PM   #7
BobV
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Is it a MAC Lap Top? Mac's do have the home
BobV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2005, 10:34 PM   #8
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

A quick look into the Help files will show that the Home key is equivalent to Insert on other OS's, as far as Maya is concerned. If you don't have a home key (possible on non-English keyboards), then you can always reassign the hotkey to something else.
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 08:30 AM   #9
lmouflier
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have a titanium power book ...
So the question is What is the symbol of the home key on an English keyboard??? ...

Above my numeric keypad, I have these symbols
nun lock, = , / , and *
Above these symbols are mute sounds and eject CD.

I went through Mac OS help but I can't get an answer.

Do you reassign the home/insert key from within Maya???
Or do you simply go to center pivot within the Maya menu and forget about the home/insert key.
lmouflier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 03:27 PM   #10
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

The Home key on a Powerbook is fn + left arrow.
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2005, 08:38 PM   #11
AtenHaRa
Registered User
 
AtenHaRa's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Istanbul
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

it's an arrow on a mac keyboard, which shows from right bottom to left up.
AtenHaRa is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.