SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lighting & Rendering, Dynamics & Effects, Texturing / Maya Materials & Textures / targa sequence with alpha as movie texture file???
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-04-2005, 12:45 PM   #1
pigcity
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default targa sequence with alpha as movie texture file???

Hi,

I am trying to get a targa sequence with alpha channel to play as a file texture in maya. When I import a targa sequence as a movie it sticks on the first frame and the alpha channel doesn't work. Is this possible as I can only get an .avi to play at present?

I have come across some documentation that talks about adding file types to the 'getFileSequenceFormats.mel' file but I am not sure of the correct syntax to add targa files to this.

Can anyone help at all?

Thanks very much ineed!
pigcity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2005, 01:04 PM   #2
roach105
Subscriber
 
roach105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: T.O Baby!
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

you can definetly use sequence files.

just add a file texture node to the color channel of the shader.

open the first file of the sequnce just like you would normally do with any other image file.

Than the option just below that you can check the box next to load image sequence. This will automatically load a sequnce.

I hope this helps. I will try to post an image in the next few minutes
roach105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2005, 01:17 PM   #3
pigcity
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default targa sequence with alpha as movie texture file???

Thanks for your reply!

That all seems to work fine until I check the 'use image sequence' box and then the plane I have mapped onto goes blank and appears black when I do a test render. This also happens when I do the same with a targa sequence without an alpha channel.

Any ideas?!

Thanks alot.
pigcity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2005, 01:37 PM   #4
roach105
Subscriber
 
roach105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: T.O Baby!
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

weird. I haven't tried this stuff since like Maya 5 which you had to manually add an expression. I will give it a try and let you know. What version of Maya are you on?
roach105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2005, 01:40 PM   #5
pigcity
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm using Maya 6.0 ...

Thanks for your help roach105!
pigcity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2005, 01:41 PM   #6
roach105
Subscriber
 
roach105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: T.O Baby!
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

ok, I did see something weird. It seems Maya has an issue if you name you files like:

test01.tga
test02.tga
test03.tga
test04.tga

file name must be the same and extension must be sequence. I got it to work

test01.001
test01.002
test01.003
test01.004

try that. Its weird but it worked for me
roach105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2005, 01:44 PM   #7
roach105
Subscriber
 
roach105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: T.O Baby!
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

or better yet....

test.001.tga
test.002.tga
test.003.tga
test.004.tga

worked
roach105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2005, 02:17 PM   #8
pigcity
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Great! That seems to have done the trick as far as making them play, although the frames aren't visible until I do a render but thanks very much for that!

Now I can't get the alpha channel to work, I have tried different links with the connection editor but with no success.

Any further ideas?!

And thanks again for your help.
pigcity is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 02:45 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.