SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 15-04-2005, 12:33 PM   #1
Velusion
Registered User
 
Velusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 368
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Raytracing referenced objects

<running Maya 6.5>
I finished a model, textured it and rigged it. After that, I referenced it into a new scene for animation and lighting. The problem is that for some reason Raytracing doesn't cast shadows onto other objects. Shadow maps work just fine but raytracing doesn't.

I went back to the original model and set up some lights with raytracing enabled and it worked well. This leads me to believe that maybe the raytracing isn't working because the model has been referenced from another file.. I honestly don't know if this has anything to do with it but it's all I've been able to come up with so far.

Any thoughts?
__________________
James Rogers
www.morphicmotion.com
Velusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2005, 12:32 PM   #2
Velusion
Registered User
 
Velusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 368
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I ran a test that involved creating a simple scene (scene1) with a single light. I used raytracing to render a frame. All worked well. After that, I created a new scene and referenced in the first scene (scene 1) then set up a single light and rendered it using raytracing. All worked well.

This now leads me to believe that the problem is not in the referencing but rather, something specific to the file that is doing the referencing. To test my theory, I went back to the "suspect" scene that is referencing the model scene. I turned off the referenced file (in the reference editor) then set up a simple scene, lit it and tried to render with raytracing. The calculations took a long time, as usual with raytracing but there were no shadows. The individual objects in the scene had shadows but the they did not cast shadows onto eachother or the floor. I checked the attibute editor to verify that all objects were set to cast and receive shadows... Everything looked ok.

I am out of my depths right now. I don't know why this is happening. The scene that is doing the referencing has all of the keyframe animation info for the scene. Maybe a possibility would be to export all of the keyframe info to a fresh file then reference the model file into it. I don't know how to do that or even if it is a reasonable scenario.

The reason I am referencing the model scene into another scene for animation is because I am still tweeking the model's paint job and skin weights. By doing it this way, all changes carry forward into the referencing scene.

Any thoughts?
__________________
James Rogers
www.morphicmotion.com

Last edited by Velusion : 18-04-2005 at 03:45 PM.
Velusion is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 06:26 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.