SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Absolute neophyte!
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 18-08-2005, 05:57 PM   #1
Budprince
Registered User
 
Budprince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy Absolute neophyte!

I'm needing help in figuring out how to render imated logo I created as an SWF file. each time I attempt to output it using the maya vector selecting the SWF and name.ext (multi frame) it out puts separate files of each frame - generally in the format that was previously selected in Maya software (whether JPEG or IFF etc.)

Can anyone hlep point me in the right direction? I am self taught in maya (only 3 weeks old - so to speak) and am under a deadline

Any and all assistance is appreciated.

:headbang:
Budprince is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2005, 07:07 AM   #2
Drought
Subscriber
 
Drought's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Japan
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Assuming you have Flash, do the following:

1) In Maya, render out as Targa. I imagine other file formats like .IFF work, but I have only tested with Targa files.

2) Download Virtual Dub (Google for it, it's free).

3) Open the first frame of your animation in Virtual Dub, and it will open the entire animation.

4) Save out as an AVI.

5) Import into Flash and save out as an SWF file.

Hope that helps.
__________________
Many of life's failures are people who did not realize how close they were to success when they gave up. --Thomas A. Edison
Drought is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2005, 06:25 PM   #3
Phopojijo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 408
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I think he's hoping to have the 3d model show up in vector mode, not as a movie stored in a flash animation. Not sure if Maya automate what people like homestarrunner does by hand though.

You got to admit that would be fun to see though.
Phopojijo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2005, 06:30 PM   #4
Budprince
Registered User
 
Budprince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Drought
Assuming you have Flash, do the following:

1) In Maya, render out as Targa. I imagine other file formats like .IFF work, but I have only tested with Targa files.

2) Download Virtual Dub (Google for it, it's free).

3) Open the first frame of your animation in Virtual Dub, and it will open the entire animation.

4) Save out as an AVI.

5) Import into Flash and save out as an SWF file.

Hope that helps.

Can't seem to get that to work, Drought V Dub only wants to open an actual movie. . . It doesn't allow me to open a sing frame Targa file still trying though
Budprince is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2005, 07:11 PM   #5
Drought
Subscriber
 
Drought's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Japan
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Hi there.

I'm not an expert by any means, but I may be able to help.

What error are you getting?

Am I correct in assuming you have multiple targa files in your images folder after you rendered?

Are your files numbered sequentially? Also, I have my frame padding set to 3 so that it numbers my files 001, 002, 003, etc.

Drought
__________________
Many of life's failures are people who did not realize how close they were to success when they gave up. --Thomas A. Edison
Drought is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2005, 07:15 PM   #6
Budprince
Registered User
 
Budprince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

the error I get when I try to open the first of the Targa files is: "cannot detect file type of "file name.tga.1"
Budprince is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2005, 09:46 AM   #7
Drought
Subscriber
 
Drought's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Japan
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Your image naming format might be the problem; i.e. virtual dub might not recognize that as a targa file.

First, try just renaming the files to your_filename#.tga.

If that doesn't work, try changing your image file output settings in render globals to "name#.ext" and re-render. Also, don't forget the frame padding.

Good luck. Again, I'm not an expert. I have only played with this a little bit, but I hope that helps.

Drought
__________________
Many of life's failures are people who did not realize how close they were to success when they gave up. --Thomas A. Edison
Drought is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.