Complex UV Layout in Maya
Over the last couple of years UV layout in Maya has changed for the better. In this course we're going to be taking a look at some of those changes as we UV map an entire character
# 1 18-08-2005 , 05:57 PM

Absolute neophyte!

I'm needing help in figuring out how to render imated logo I created as an SWF file. each time I attempt to output it using the maya vector selecting the SWF and name.ext (multi frame) it out puts separate files of each frame - generally in the format that was previously selected in Maya software (whether JPEG or IFF etc.)

Can anyone hlep point me in the right direction? I am self taught in maya (only 3 weeks old - so to speak) and am under a deadline

Any and all assistance is appreciated.

:headbang:

# 2 19-08-2005 , 07:07 AM
Subscriber
Assuming you have Flash, do the following:

1) In Maya, render out as Targa. I imagine other file formats like .IFF work, but I have only tested with Targa files.

2) Download Virtual Dub (Google for it, it's free).

3) Open the first frame of your animation in Virtual Dub, and it will open the entire animation.

4) Save out as an AVI.

5) Import into Flash and save out as an SWF file.

Hope that helps.

Many of life's failures are people who did not realize how close they were to success when they gave up. --Thomas A. Edison
# 3 21-08-2005 , 06:25 PM
I think he's hoping to have the 3d model show up in vector mode, not as a movie stored in a flash animation. Not sure if Maya automate what people like homestarrunner does by hand though.

You got to admit that would be fun to see though.

# 4 26-08-2005 , 06:30 PM

Originally posted by Drought
Assuming you have Flash, do the following:

1) In Maya, render out as Targa. I imagine other file formats like .IFF work, but I have only tested with Targa files.

2) Download Virtual Dub (Google for it, it's free).

3) Open the first frame of your animation in Virtual Dub, and it will open the entire animation.

4) Save out as an AVI.