SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / maya file converter change dir.
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 19-08-2005, 03:11 PM   #1
Stephen
Subscriber
 
Stephen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: northampton
Posts: 242
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default maya file converter change dir.

can anyone tell me why I cant change directory in DOS?/
I have used this many times but now cant see why the directory deosnt change. what am I doing wrong?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	change directory.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	40.7 KB
ID:	22984  
__________________
It is by my will alone I set my mind in motion
www.origin3d.co.uk
Stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2005, 04:38 PM   #2
roach105
Subscriber
 
roach105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: T.O Baby!
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

if you want to go to the f drive just type in

F:


Thats it

or

Last edited by roach105 : 19-08-2005 at 04:45 PM.
roach105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2005, 04:45 PM   #3
roach105
Subscriber
 
roach105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: T.O Baby!
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

this.

you are in the d:\bin directory and do go to your c:\temp directory I usually type

chdir c:\temp hit enter

than type c: hit enter

you should now be in the proper directory.


If anyone has a better way please let me know
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	cmd.gif
Views:	28
Size:	2.2 KB
ID:	22986  
roach105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2005, 04:51 PM   #4
Stephen
Subscriber
 
Stephen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: northampton
Posts: 242
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

does this mayafileconverter work with maya 6.5? eh! I see the problem, this is only for maya 6... oh well!
__________________
It is by my will alone I set my mind in motion
www.origin3d.co.uk
Stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2005, 04:58 PM   #5
roach105
Subscriber
 
roach105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: T.O Baby!
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

sorry bud, what exactly are you trying to convert?
roach105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2005, 05:32 PM   #6
Stephen
Subscriber
 
Stephen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: northampton
Posts: 242
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Im trying to convert a maya 6.5 file to maya 5 using the mayaFileConverter script. But I need to point it the the directory which the scene file sits in along with the maya script...

I used to use this a while back with no problem but I cant change the directory in dos to point to the folder with the files in it.
this is what I'm typing...

cd F:\Projects\LittleBridge\scenes. But as you see from the image above it just goes back to E:?
__________________
It is by my will alone I set my mind in motion
www.origin3d.co.uk
Stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2005, 05:38 PM   #7
roach105
Subscriber
 
roach105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: T.O Baby!
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Just open the *.ma file in wordpad and change the line that says

requires maya "6.5";

to


requires maya "5.0";

or you could get rid of this line.


resave it

"newfile.ma"

should be fine in most cases but the same problems would happen with your special file converter.

good luck
roach105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2005, 06:42 PM   #8
Stephen
Subscriber
 
Stephen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: northampton
Posts: 242
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

thanks mate thats thats a much quicker way.. cheers
__________________
It is by my will alone I set my mind in motion
www.origin3d.co.uk
Stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 10:27 AM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 10:32 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 02:45 AM
How to change thread picture daverave Members Lounge 5 01-12-2010 05:20 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.