SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Modeling / Modeling / WTF? Can't get rid of rogue geometry
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 20-08-2005, 09:25 PM   #1
sjurick
Subscriber
 
sjurick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 136
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default WTF? Can't get rid of rogue geometry

Hi all. I'm having a slight issue that perhaps some of you have run into and figured out.

I have an object (canopy for a plane) and suddenly I have this rogue piece of geometry that will not delete no matter what I try.

I have tried deleting faces, edges and verts while it's in poly mode and sub-d modes. I cannot Separate or Extract it, but I can hide it and force it's Visibilty off, but it's bugging me as to why I cannot get it gone!

Any ideas?

Running Maya 7.0
__________________
"Please excuse the crudity of this model, I didnít have time to build it to scale or to paint it"
:: Dr. Emmett Brown
sjurick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2005, 09:26 PM   #2
sjurick
Subscriber
 
sjurick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 136
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Pic didn't upload...sorry.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	canopy-prob.gif
Views:	79
Size:	57.7 KB
ID:	23015  
__________________
"Please excuse the crudity of this model, I didnít have time to build it to scale or to paint it"
:: Dr. Emmett Brown
sjurick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2005, 04:13 PM   #3
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Check hypergraph to see if it has its own shape node. select the object, then graph the input/output connection. If you can find a node that selects just that piece, delete that node.
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2005, 09:01 PM   #4
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,276
Thanks: 41
Thanked 428 Times in 384 Posts
Default

or possibly a blind data node that can occur (subd history), again see hypergraph

Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2005, 12:52 AM   #5
sjurick
Subscriber
 
sjurick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 136
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks all. I was able to clear this through the Hypergraph.

Steve
__________________
"Please excuse the crudity of this model, I didnít have time to build it to scale or to paint it"
:: Dr. Emmett Brown
sjurick is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.