SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 15-09-2005, 05:16 PM   #1
kablink
Subscriber
 
kablink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 110
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Why no light??

Hii

When i render my scene it doesn't render any light and i can't figure out what's wrong, it has allways worked before! Why is this?

kablink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2005, 05:27 PM   #2
sspikedudley
Subscriber
 
sspikedudley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 344
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

make sure on the first tab of your render globals tab you have use defualt light turned on OR just make a light and use that
sspikedudley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2005, 01:43 AM   #3
danotronXX
Subscriber
 
danotronXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: cleveland ohio
Posts: 313
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

if u have created a light and your still getting no lights in the rendered view, make sure the light isnt inside some object, make sure its out in teh open space.
danotronXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2005, 08:20 AM   #4
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

not strictly true, it doesn't matter if a light is inside an object if it's not casting shadows. Light will still pass through (not always with spotlights but for the rest yes)


A
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2005, 08:46 AM   #5
sspikedudley
Subscriber
 
sspikedudley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 344
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

from the screen shot it looks like he has a spot light under a plane that is casting shadows so that could be the reason
sspikedudley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2005, 11:07 AM   #6
kablink
Subscriber
 
kablink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 110
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

On the image i'm using volume light but i've tried alla cinds of light!
kablink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2005, 04:38 PM   #7
sspikedudley
Subscriber
 
sspikedudley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 344
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yes but try moving the light up from beneath the plane because if its casting shadows then the light will not get past the plane
sspikedudley is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
glass se7enhedd Lighting & Rendering 18 10-12-2010 01:27 AM
Open Challenge -Jerry Can Texturing honestdom Battle Arena 77 03-12-2010 12:20 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.