SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Animation / Animation / question about using clips
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 22-09-2005, 02:14 AM   #1
mrmungillo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New England
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default question about using clips

after creating clips is there a way to use those clips on another character that has the same naming convention on the bones but they are different size characters.
mrmungillo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2005, 02:51 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I think Maya 7 has incorporated something like this, but I've not played with it yet
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2005, 02:23 AM   #3
mrmungillo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New England
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i will look into it

thanks
mrmungillo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2005, 01:39 AM   #4
lisa_ching
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

just a thot

maybe you could export and import as an fbx file and there is an option for importing animation...
lisa_ching is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2005, 06:41 PM   #5
the_podman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Manhatten NYC
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The only way that would work would be if the "Character Set" had the same name, but then you couldn't load them into the same scene. You could select the clip and export>clip. This will save the clip as something like "run.ma". In the new scene, create a character set for your new character with the same name. Then, you can import clips through the trax editor and they will be added to your visor. The clips will NOT import if there is even the slightest difference in you riggs.

The objects in your character sets are usually only the "controllers" that drive the bones in your skeleton. So, as long as those controllers haven't changed, you should be fine. However, seeing that the proportions of the new character will be different, this will mess up any IK translate information within the clip.

An easier way would be to use Maya's retargeting, but even that's a little tricky. When it comes to using animation clips on multiple riggs, this is where MotionBuilder shines over Maya. FBIK for Maya is almost there though.
the_podman is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.