SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Please i need some urgent help with a camera issue.
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-10-2005, 01:05 AM   #1
airjordan12345
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Please i need some urgent help with a camera issue.

Hey. So im working on this Mitsubishi Eclipse model and all of a sudden i save and i get an error saying:

// Warning: Could not find an appropriate startup camera: top. A substitute will be used. //

I Try and fix things or rather tried to find the error but i cant fix it. I was using a reference plane on the camera but I had to create new ones out of poly planes.
I really want some help with this i have tried working for several days but i dont want to continue much and then have to redo everything. I tried copying and pasting all my geometry but it pastes the camera as well.

Please help me out its frustrating an di dont know if i deleted it, is there a way of creating another top camera just like the default one?

Thanks and i appreciate any help i get.
airjordan12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2005, 06:23 AM   #2
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

So you're able to get into maya, but the "top" camera is missing? Have you tried resetting or deleting preferences to let maya rebuild?
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2005, 11:07 AM   #3
airjordan12345
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well i opened different scenes and from what i saw it was only happening with that particular file. Ill reset the preferences a bit later today and ill let you guys know (I have a mac by the way).

Thanks ill try it out
airjordan12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2005, 05:49 PM   #4
airjordan12345
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi, i open maya and i dont get a camera error, its there.

When i open the car scene i have trouble with it.

Can you help me export my car and the pieces i have separated it in as well as the reference planes (made out of polys) and the reference curves.

Everytime i try to copy and paste it in a new scene it pastes everything including the camera. So could you guys help me solve hti sits annoying and i dont know how on earth to get rid of the problem :shakehead

thanks for your help.
airjordan12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2005, 06:34 PM   #5
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

to reset a camera to a default, go to [in the viewport menu] view>predefined bookmarks and coose one of the defaults.
to solve ur problem, go to preferences>UI elements menu
and uncheck "when opening: restore saved layout and save Panel layout with file"

__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2005, 05:36 PM   #6
airjordan12345
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks i got a top camera form the bookmarks but then i changed the 2 settings u recommended on the UI elements in preferences and i still get an error saying a top camera could not be found.

:headbang:

Its so frustrating i have tried it aaaalll and nothign works what should i do?
Perhaps Mtmckinley knows what to do hes an expert with maya...

Thanks for your help though...
airjordan12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Model Errors Urgent advice!! sreynoso Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 11 23-10-2014 11:39 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.