SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Particles to surface
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 27-10-2005, 12:02 AM   #1
chermandesign
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post Particles to surface

I'm trying to create a surface from a set of particles emitted within a container. Does anyone know how to the take these particles and create a surface from it? is there anyway to link these particles to a surace so I can track can track the particles movements in surface format.
chermandesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2005, 12:10 PM   #2
deesine
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

AFAIK you can't create a surface from particles, but you can set the surface as a goal for the particles, and use smaller pieces resembling the surface as a particle instancer. As for the surface, you could animate a ramp on it's opacity if you want it to gradually appear.
deesine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2005, 11:32 PM   #3
Phopojijo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 408
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Unless of course you mean the blobby surface particle type... which case the particles kinda blend together to look like a surface.

Phopojijo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2005, 05:00 PM   #4
chermandesign
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post close

No, not trying to use "blob" shapes. I've seen it done...

http://www.kokkugia.com/

go to projects/it collins

but not really sure how it was done. I know that you can manually go in and create isoparms across each row of particles, but that takes forever, didn't know if anyone knew a faster better way.
chermandesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 08:36 AM   #5
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

You can do it with fluids, but as for making a surface out of particles that's quite hard and would require MEL scripting. You would have to get the positions of each particle (not hard) and then go through them creating surfaces using the particle locations as vertices. Now this is a lot harder. especially given the fact that his seems to be one continous surface....

good luck


A
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 02:01 PM   #6
chermandesign
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post How?

How can you do it with Fluids? I've tried but no luck yet.
chermandesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 03:09 PM   #7
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

i dont know the exact setting but you can change the output type to surface.


A
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.