SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Merging Nurbs/Converting a circle into a plane?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-12-2005, 05:25 PM   #1
jpardoe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 60
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Merging Nurbs/Converting a circle into a plane?

Hi, take a look at the screenshot below. I'm trying to merge all of the verticies into one to close the tube, but I have no idea how?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	nurbs.jpg
Views:	742
Size:	43.3 KB
ID:	25507  
jpardoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2005, 05:42 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

There isn't really a way to do that with nurbs. Your best bet is to take a ring of CVs at the end and scale them down until it *looks* like it's closed. You'll need to insert isoparms to get the hardness of the edge that you want.

Or, convert to polygons and merge it.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2005, 05:52 PM   #3
magicsy
Subscriber
 
magicsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Leeds
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

better still create 2 more isoparms near the edge then go to hull select the very last one then sacle down till all 3 boxes meet.
magicsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2005, 05:59 PM   #4
jpardoe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 60
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hmm, what's the advantage of nurbs? They seem inferior to polygons and subdivs...
jpardoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2005, 07:15 PM   #5
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I would agree.

See my signature quote for more details.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2005, 07:24 PM   #6
jpardoe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 60
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

haha! excellent!
jpardoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2005, 07:32 PM   #7
jpardoe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 60
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok I now have a new question...I've switched to sibdiv and had better results, but now I'm trying to add a round ball to the exsting subdiv model. How would I go about doing this?

screenshot:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	head.jpg
Views:	735
Size:	51.3 KB
ID:	25511  
jpardoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2005, 07:38 PM   #8
magicsy
Subscriber
 
magicsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Leeds
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

im not really been funny but if you downloaded the Free tutorials off the site they would help you a lot.
magicsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2005, 08:09 PM   #9
jpardoe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 60
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I hadn't ventured beyond the forums...I didn't know there was such a treasure trove here! Thanks.

You wouldn't be able to point me towards a subdiv-related tut would you?
jpardoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2005, 08:10 PM   #10
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I would personally suggest tackling polygons first in your learning process and then moving on to SubDs. I think that'd make the transition easier.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2005, 08:17 PM   #11
jpardoe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 60
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I think i'm pretty comfortable with polygons.

When attempting to add the head to the body in the image above, I did try giving the subdiv a polygon proxy and then extruding the top faces, in the hopes of then being able to form the polygons into a sphere, however it extruded four lumps instead of one block. Is there a way in subdiv mode that I can tell it to extrude all edges equally? see screenshot below to see what I'm talking about:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	4bumps.jpg
Views:	726
Size:	39.2 KB
ID:	25515  
jpardoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2005, 08:23 PM   #12
jpardoe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 60
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ah ha! never mind, i've done it.

I deleted the inner edges first, and that did the trick.

Thanks for your help guys.
jpardoe is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.