Maya Training

Creating characters In Maya and Zbrush

Maya Training

Creating character renders in Maya 2017 and Arnold

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 16-12-2005, 04:16 PM   #1
Geedie
Registered User
 
Geedie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Melbourne. Australia
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default X,Y but not Z

I am pulling (scaling) a ring of verts inwards and i want the x and y values to be the same.
If i use the middle square all axis are affected.
I know i can type in the values but is there a constraint set of buttons i am missing? or a HotKey?
I was working from the top view, but this pic is of the front. It's a nut because I'm a n00b.
I've been through the Newbie Forum and some of the pics people are posting tells me that they arnt noobs - if they are, then i suck.

-geedie
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
If I knew what I was doing, I'd be sane right now.

Last edited by Geedie : 16-12-2005 at 04:20 PM.
Geedie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2005, 12:24 AM   #2
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Default

doesnt show z in Orthographic Views go into perspective view, panels>perspective>persp
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2005, 02:44 AM   #3
Phopojijo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 408
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: X,Y but not Z

Originally posted by Geedie
I am pulling (scaling) a ring of verts inwards and i want the x and y values to be the same.
If i use the middle square all axis are affected.
I know i can type in the values but is there a constraint set of buttons i am missing? or a HotKey?
I was working from the top view, but this pic is of the front. It's a nut because I'm a n00b.
I've been through the Newbie Forum and some of the pics people are posting tells me that they arnt noobs - if they are, then i suck.

-geedie
1) Do it in perspective view -- 2) click on the axis you wish to NOT scale and hold CTRL down while you move it -- it will be the only axis NOT scaled.
Phopojijo is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2017 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.