SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Modeling / Modeling / Independant UV problem..odd
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 20-01-2006, 05:48 PM   #1
tvholicjames
Subscriber
 
tvholicjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 188
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Independant UV problem..odd

Hi,

Just when I almost done with laying out the UV and moving and sewig the dress...I ran into a odd prob.

When I layed out the UV...and cutting and sewing it, I noticed there was 2 UV patch missing on the UV panel. So after everything is done and I put a checker on the dress to see if it stretched...that is when I finally saw 2 independant UVs. I deleted those 2 faces. Append the missing ones and cut the UVs up and sew them (actually it), but it only let me sew 1 UV patch and the other is still very independant.
You can see from the picture. What should I do?

I went to edge mode after cutting that independant UV patch and select the edges of the dress...but the edges of that patch is still not selected.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	independantv_prob.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	12.3 KB
ID:	26518  
tvholicjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2006, 05:58 PM   #2
Tim_LIVID
Subscriber
 
Tim_LIVID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Harwich, UK
Posts: 1,195
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

This may sound a bit too silly but couldn't you just move the UVs into position using the snap to point so it's in the right place without having to sew?
__________________
"You can live for yourself today -- or help build tomorrow for everyone" _LIVID

Optical Minefield
My Blog
Tim_LIVID is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2006, 06:04 PM   #3
tvholicjames
Subscriber
 
tvholicjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 188
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

snap to point? never heard of that before...can you be specific please?
tvholicjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2006, 06:11 PM   #4
Tim_LIVID
Subscriber
 
Tim_LIVID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Harwich, UK
Posts: 1,195
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well if you select the UV (or anything for that matter) and then hold down 'V' while using the Move tool it will 'snap' what you have selected to the nearest point (like another UV or Vertex).
__________________
"You can live for yourself today -- or help build tomorrow for everyone" _LIVID

Optical Minefield
My Blog
Tim_LIVID is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2006, 06:20 PM   #5
tvholicjames
Subscriber
 
tvholicjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 188
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Didn't work. I extracted a nearby polygon face and combined and snap and merge vertice. But still the UV layout looked the same. It is still an independant UV. Help.
tvholicjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2006, 06:23 PM   #6
Tim_LIVID
Subscriber
 
Tim_LIVID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Harwich, UK
Posts: 1,195
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Im not 100% sure what you are trying to do. Are you just tring to get that rogue face and it's UV's back into line with the rest of your model and it's UV map?
__________________
"You can live for yourself today -- or help build tomorrow for everyone" _LIVID

Optical Minefield
My Blog
Tim_LIVID is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2006, 06:38 PM   #7
tvholicjames
Subscriber
 
tvholicjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 188
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I got it! All I had to do was delete the independant face and snap the verts and merge, then use the split tool to allign it. And in the UV editor, I move and sew it.....Yeah! My prob solved.
tvholicjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2006, 07:21 PM   #8
tvholicjames
Subscriber
 
tvholicjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 188
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks Tim.
tvholicjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2006, 07:25 PM   #9
Tim_LIVID
Subscriber
 
Tim_LIVID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Harwich, UK
Posts: 1,195
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

That's alright, im just glad you found the solution to your problem.

With or without me :p
__________________
"You can live for yourself today -- or help build tomorrow for everyone" _LIVID

Optical Minefield
My Blog
Tim_LIVID is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 06:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 02:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.