SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-11-2002, 06:03 AM   #1
grunze
Registered User
 
grunze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 117
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Rendering dynamics......

Hi,

Is there a special way tpo render dynamics?

here's why.

I have a scene with dynamics, when i batch render the iff sequence and play it back, it plays half way, then stops. The frame count keeps increasing normally, though it seems to keep repeating the same frame.

When I play it in my camera panel it plays perfectly, but not when i render it...

Please help...
Thank you very much,
Ari
__________________
Thanks,
Ari
grunze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2002, 06:06 AM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

hmm, that's strange. Perhaps I don't understand exactly what's happening...

Have you made sure that your Start and End frames are correct in your Render Globals?
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2002, 06:08 AM   #3
grunze
Registered User
 
grunze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 117
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yeah,
Thats all correct.. its a weird problem... But somehow i've got to fix it...

When i render it on every second frame, it works...grr.. its very frustrating.

Thanks again
__________________
Thanks,
Ari
grunze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2002, 06:09 AM   #4
Jozvex
Registered User
 
Jozvex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi,

I've heard of this happening on a number of occasions and luckily there are two ways to fix it!

One way is to create a cache of all the simulation data so that when it batch renders, it just takes the info straight out of the cache.

To do this:

From the Dynamics Menu Set, go to Solvers > Rigid Body Solver, and under the 'Rigid Solver States' section, tick the Cache Data button.

Now if you play your scene through once, it will record all the information onto the hard drive. You'll now be able to scrub back and forth on your timeslider and the dynamics will update instantly (in reverse too!).

The other option to fix it is to bake all your dynamics into keyframes, by selecting your dynamic objects and going to Edit > Keys > Bake Simulation.

That will put a keyframe on every frame for each of your selected objects.

I hope that fixes it for you!
Jozvex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2002, 06:23 AM   #5
grunze
Registered User
 
grunze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 117
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Wow,...
thanks,
I'll try those idea in the morning..

tHanks alot, and i'll let you know if it works.

Bye
__________________
Thanks,
Ari
grunze is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.