SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Members Lounge / Ripping DVD to AVI/*.tga
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 23-03-2006, 05:02 AM   #1
migodka
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: London
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Ripping DVD to AVI/*.tga

Hi,

Wasn't too sure where to post this, hopefully not in the wrong forum area:

I want to rip a DVD into a .avi (or preferably *.tga - targa) file. Reason is, is that I have some old work on DVD that I would like to add to my 3D maya showreel.

I'm aware that there are some freeware bits of software out there that can convert DVD to .avi but I have a feeling they are for home use and wouldn't be of sufficient quality for a professional showreel.

To my knowledge I don't think Premier Pro 2 / After Effects etc. can do this.

Any advise much appreciated.

Thanks
Jo
migodka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2006, 05:16 AM   #2
BMS
Subscriber
 
BMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia - Melbourne
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

It all depends on how many frames you need to remove from the DVD. Understand the footage is already compressed and there will be a loss in Quality.

You could use WinDVD and simply step forward and use its snapshot feature. The files will be save to your PC in jpg format.

You could convert the VOBs to AVI and then import it into Premiere Pro and then export in TGA format.

Hope this helps.

or you could go to the best site on then net for this stuff:
VideoHelp

regards
Paul
BMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2006, 05:05 PM   #3
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

never tried it but cant you do it in after effects, import the file then exprot as a image sequence?

I've used this for an AVI file and it worked fine
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2006, 09:07 PM   #4
BMS
Subscriber
 
BMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia - Melbourne
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Yes AE will allow you to export image sequences.
BMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-03-2006, 04:05 AM   #5
migodka
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: London
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you for your advice, I will try those things.

Many thanks
Jo
migodka is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.