Maya Training

Creating characters In Maya and Zbrush

Maya Training

Creating character renders in Maya 2017 and Arnold

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 07-04-2006, 10:33 PM   #1
Keith160377
Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Making a cave

Hi all!!

I'm trying to make a cave in Maya for a project.

In Max, I was able to do a Cave from doing a tube and then adding a noise modifier to it.

Would I have to do something similar in Maya or is there another way I could go about it?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

Many thanks,

Regs,

Keith
Keith160377 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006, 01:36 AM   #2
MattTheMan
Registered User
 
MattTheMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 2,436
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Default

Hmmm... Maya doesn't have a noise modifiyer, but i'm sure if you googled Maya MEL noise then something would come up

in maya, if there's not already a tool out there, its sooo easy to make one in MEL

hope that helps
Matt
__________________
Live the life you love, love the life you live
MattTheMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2006, 10:22 PM   #3
omar77
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

just create a polygon cylinder and increase the high division , say 10
and select the faces but not the faces at the both side , and do extrude ( uncheck use selected curve for extrusion) and but 1 in the random , applay , and you will get cave.
create camera into the sphere.

hope that will help you

Last edited by omar77 : 18-04-2006 at 10:38 PM.
omar77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2006, 10:24 PM   #4
omar77
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

and you schould do smooth , to get best results , do it two times.
omar77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2006, 01:15 PM   #5
EX-Nitro
Registered User
 
EX-Nitro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Split, Croatia
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

use sculpt polygon tool
add smooth to that surface and there you go!
__________________
If the worst hasn't happened yet, that's because you haven't tried everything yet!
EX-Nitro is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2017 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.