SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lighting & Rendering, Dynamics & Effects, Texturing / Mental Ray / Problem rendering MR with textures....
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-05-2006, 06:21 PM   #1
blitzmaya
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 80
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Problem rendering MR with textures....

I'm trying to render a work in progress and ran into this problem. I'm using MR and once I applied textures on the object, it would render then freezes up. W/out the textures, it renders like no problem. What could be the cause of this? Could it be on of the settings in global? If so, what is the possiblility that it can cause the render to take longer?

Fyi: The textures are not even that big, resolution size is 72 and 512x512.

GI accuracy: 100
FG: 200

Much appreciated.
blitzmaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2006, 07:50 PM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Dunno mate, could be running out of memory and causing it to crash?? Doubt it though unless your scene is very complex??

Have you tried to apply procedural textures and see if that works over your custom textures?
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2006, 02:58 AM   #3
blitzmaya
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 80
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

My scene is very simple, one object with a texture handle and some lighting setups. It could be my vid card that might not handle all that power.

It's driving me nuts.
blitzmaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2006, 09:05 AM   #4
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Dont think its your graphics card as mental ray dosent use the graphics card, only pure processing power and RAM.

Does it render ok in the software?
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2006, 01:01 PM   #5
blitzmaya
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 80
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yea, less than a second. Could this have something to do with increasing photons?

Btw, my comp has 1.92ghz with 1gb of ram. Slow right hu?

Last edited by blitzmaya : 08-05-2006 at 01:04 PM.
blitzmaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2006, 01:44 PM   #6
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Strange that, thats faster than my PC, LOL and i dont have a problem with mental ray (check out my JD bottle in the finished work, shameless plug!! LOL)

Have you tried opening a new scene then just creating a sphere adding any texture then rendering it using mantal ray??

Some times it throws a wobbler with me and I have to create new scene then import the objects from the scene I what to render for it to work.
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2006, 02:23 PM   #7
blitzmaya
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 80
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I think I'm going to have to upgrade the comp. cause this is not working either. I made a new scene with a simple sphere with textures and MR, freezes up afterwards or am I suppose to wait? Also while rendering and I decided to esc to stop the render, it won't stop the render perhaps freezes.

Then for some reason, it rendered once and the texture was all black.

blitzmaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2006, 02:27 PM   #8
blitzmaya
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 80
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Here's a sample I rendered in software so you can see what it's like.

Sample

Last edited by blitzmaya : 08-05-2006 at 02:32 PM.
blitzmaya is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 06:26 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.