SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / mental ray satellite constantly hangs my renders!
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 17-05-2006, 08:08 AM   #1
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,997
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default mental ray satellite constantly hangs my renders!

Has anyone got mental ray satellite for maya version 7 working?

I installed this to improve my render times and speed things up but all it has done is cause me to lose an entire week of productivity!

It constantly hangs permanantly mid render. The only way to recover control is to ctlr-alt-delete and forcibly stop maya.

I cannot even render a single nurbs plane!

I have two windows xp pro machines on my local network.

I have maya 7.0 (I do not want to upgrade to 7.0.1 until I resolve how to do dxf exports and imports).

I just downloaded the latest mental ray satellite for maya 7 (8.6m) and installed on both machines.

I created the maya.rayhosts files on both machines because I do not always model on the same system. According to the documentation for mental ray this is okay.

The latest version of mrs registers slaves on port 7104 not 7103.

I tested the connection by turning on progress messages and render a plane from a distance and verified that the slave machine is identified and the render completes.

I then soom in on the plane and render again and the friggin render almost immediately hangs! I can see from the mental ray status window that there are threads running on both the master and the slave system, but at some point everything just permanantly hangs.

I get the same behavior regardless of which machine I try to render from.

If I go to render current options and uncheck render on this machine then the render runs completely on the slave machine and completes! What is up with that?

The only way I can use this goofy ass feature is to not render on my master machine forcing the entire render to a single machine across a network easily increasing my per frame render times by 1000%! This is worthly!

Last edited by ctbram : 17-05-2006 at 08:12 AM.
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-05-2006, 01:16 AM   #2
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,997
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default

Anyone at all using mental ray satellite?

I cannot get it to run without hanging unless I turn off rendering on the master (i.e. uncheck the render on this machine checkbox so that it only renders on the slave machines).
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2006, 01:24 AM   #3
Ahnos
Registered User
 
Ahnos's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Angry i am trying to set it up now

I came across your thread because I am trying to set it up too.

I installed Maya 7.0.1 and the mental ray satellite on 2 other machines. I don't really understand the ports, maya.rayhosts file stuff but I am tryign to figure it out.

I have 3 machines with Windows XP prof, all network via a linksys WRT54-G router.

If I figure it out and it works I will update this. Right now, if anyone knows what I can do next....please advise. I am sorry I suck, I will try to do most of the work on my own....but I appreciate any guidance
Ahnos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2006, 10:50 AM   #4
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

There was a lengthy thread at cgtalk on this. The bottom line is that satellite in Maya 7(.0.1) is unusable. It's an officially confirmed bug. We just have to hope that autodesk fixes it asap. Your best bet is to use 6.5
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Importing Renders to AE Ozgalis Dynamics & Special Effects 1 08-12-2010 08:56 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.