SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 27-06-2006, 08:35 AM   #1
melancholy
Registered User
 
melancholy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ethiopia
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Alpha Channels

I am working with maya 5. I have a little problem with my rendered output. When i take my renderings into a compositing software like AE, it doesn't recognize the alpha channels. I had checked the Alpha option in the rendering globals window and I have tried it with IFF and AVI formats. Am I missing something or is this a bug?
melancholy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-2006, 03:09 PM   #2
pbman
Subscriber
 
pbman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

avi dont do alpha

i generally use traga for this
also i have had problems with alpha an adobe products an found that update from their site fixed it
look foe AE patches to see if there is an alpha 1

soz for not being much help
good luck
__________________
Now at SMU doing BSc 3D Computer Animation so its hard to get on here
My wire render tut http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=20973
pbman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2006, 06:54 AM   #3
melancholy
Registered User
 
melancholy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ethiopia
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Actually, AVI work with alpha. I have done an alpha rendering from AE and used it to remove the background in Premiere. It works. The problem is the maya render.
__________________
knock, knock
melancholy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2006, 03:22 PM   #4
pbman
Subscriber
 
pbman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

neva knew avi done alpha was always told no but u learn new stuff every day
__________________
Now at SMU doing BSc 3D Computer Animation so its hard to get on here
My wire render tut http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=20973
pbman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2006, 04:42 PM   #5
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Are you using Maya software or mantal ray?
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2006, 05:44 AM   #6
melancholy
Registered User
 
melancholy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ethiopia
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I am not sure whether i tried it with mental ray. But I have tried it a lot with maya software.
I haven't tried it with the targa format. I like AVI because it is supported by many software. I like IFF because it is the default rendering option (just kidding).
I am not a professional and I did not learn computer graphics from people. Most of what I know is through experimentation and my experimentations have shown me that AVI work with alpha.
__________________
knock, knock
melancholy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2006, 04:58 PM   #7
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

I was just going to say that with MR you can have problems with alpha channels if you dont set it up correctley.

I have used the alpha in a AVI file but i'm not a big fan of it as I have had problems with it in the past with some softwares. (with After effects to be honest)

I personally render it as a series of TIFF's and let aftereffects import it as a image sequence, and I have had to date no problems so far.
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.