SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-07-2006, 10:32 AM   #1
aleg8r
Registered User
 
aleg8r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: ireland
Posts: 158
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default render quality problem

as the topic says i have a problem with the quality of the saved jpg from the render (see attatchment)

i have rendered this image out with 120dpi and at 640x480 and when u look at it u se ehow bad the quality of the image is.

so my question is is there any way to get the quality of the final save jpg to be alot higher ??
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	front-paint-test-003-red.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	17.4 KB
ID:	29638  
__________________
My Website
PROUDLY SOUTH AFRICAN
aleg8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2006, 04:31 PM   #2
dberry
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It's been my experience that saving a JPG right out of the maya software renderer never yeilds a high quality image. So far I haven't found a setting that adjusts JPG compression. Usually it's pretty high and artifacty. Best suggestion is to render to a different format, preferably lossless (TIF, TGA) and then compress in photoshop or some other program that allows you to set compression.

It also looks as if you have an ambient light turned on. You might want to go with a 3 point rig instead to get the lighting a little better.

Hope this helps.
-Dave
dberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2006, 06:50 PM   #3
aleg8r
Registered User
 
aleg8r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: ireland
Posts: 158
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks ill try if my maya will stop crashing on whne i try to render u large image
__________________
My Website
PROUDLY SOUTH AFRICAN
aleg8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2006, 02:38 PM   #4
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

dberry is right render as a tiff then compress in a different program.

A
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 06:26 PM
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 06:04 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.