SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Animation / Animation / character importing problem. Plz help
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 24-08-2006, 11:41 PM   #1
freeshead
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default character importing problem. Plz help

i have made a character with rrigging, rigid skinnig & also i have apllied weightings. I want to use that character in one scene. So when i import that character in that other scene & i move that character to place it a proper place.i get problem .i also made IK to FK. but when i move chracter IK doesnt.

please somebody tell me a proper method for importing a full rigged , skinning character.
freeshead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-08-2006, 03:58 PM   #2
Lt Jim
Subscriber
 
Lt Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Queens, New York City
Posts: 367
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

It would help if you could post a picture of your character and all of his controls. If you can, please do! :-)

Otherwise, one of the "controls" you'll find on most characters is a "global" control, ie one under which EVERYTHING is parented. Here's an example of what I mean:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot019.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	224.6 KB
ID:	30430  
__________________
"Ad astra per aspera..."
Lt Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-08-2006, 04:02 PM   #3
Lt Jim
Subscriber
 
Lt Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Queens, New York City
Posts: 367
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

The "master control" is the circle around his feet. All the other controls (including the facial expression sliders) as well as the character's joints are parented to this master controller.

This master controller allows me to move and scale the character regardless of which scene he is imported into. Everything else moves and scales in proportion.

Perhaps this is your problem! If so, it is a relatively easy fix. If not, post a picture like the one I did and let's see if we can't all figure it out!

Regards!
__________________
"Ad astra per aspera..."
Lt Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 06:26 PM
Importing Renders to AE Ozgalis Dynamics & Special Effects 1 08-12-2010 08:56 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 02:48 PM
Character animation-Finished work maheshsubbiah Finished Work 7 05-12-2010 04:04 AM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.