Maya Training

Creating characters In Maya and Zbrush

Maya Training

Creating character renders in Maya 2017 and Arnold

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 30-08-2006, 12:44 AM   #1
TheDyingInformant
Registered User
 
TheDyingInformant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Converting Triangles to Quads? (not working)

Heya.

I have a model here I got from a game but.... I've already used Polygon Cleanup to take care of some 'crazyness' that was going on with the mesh. Gosh it was like spiderwebs, all over the place, even in the air (which wasn't part of the actual shape).


Now after the cleanup, I still am not impressed with this mesh. I mean, why triangles? I could never understand that personally. Quads seems to look alot cleaner and well organised, and easier to work with too. But i tried to convert triangles to quads and it DIDN'T WORK. Now what? Perhaps there is some other method? Can I duplicate the model shape, but not the 'mesh', the UV map? can I dupicate and have the copy become quads? It might be difficult to do so and keep the shape, because I can see in some cases, triangles were actually adjusted for the appearance - not just 'there' because games require it or something.

By the way, I want to ask, is the newest Maya much easier in some ways than Maya5? I still have Maya 5! lol. I need to update it for sure...
TheDyingInformant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-08-2006, 06:47 AM   #2
j5ive
Subscriber
 
j5ive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sunny Ol' Wigan, UK
Posts: 752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

All game models are tris as far as im aware. Have you tried the quadranulate command? other than that manually delete the edges between two adjacent tris to get a quad then delete the verts afterwards
__________________
If you believe in telekinesis, raise my right hand.
j5ive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-08-2006, 08:29 AM   #3
TheDyingInformant
Registered User
 
TheDyingInformant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes I tried that command. Any idea why it doesn't work? I can do it manually ofcourse but, oh my thats gonna take a while...
TheDyingInformant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-08-2006, 08:34 AM   #4
j5ive
Subscriber
 
j5ive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sunny Ol' Wigan, UK
Posts: 752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Not sure, maybe keep trying and alter the quadrangulate options to see if that has any effect
__________________
If you believe in telekinesis, raise my right hand.
j5ive is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2017 SimplyMaya - vBulletinŽ Copyright © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.