SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Duplicate an object around another?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 27-09-2006, 12:34 PM   #1
nbjacob
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Duplicate an object around another?

hey im new to maya. how can i duplicate an object a few times around another object. for example, if i have a cilinder, how would i make a row of screws (spaced) on it.

another quick question, if i created an extrusion at the beginning and later decided i want to delete it, how can i delete it? im assuming its somewhere in thr attribut editor but i dont know how.

thanks for the help. greatly appreciated.
nbjacob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2006, 03:07 PM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

For the first one use the Edit->Duplicate tool, adjusting the number of copies to the numver you want, the axis to the one you want it to be round and the angle of the copies

e.g if you want 4 objects round the x axis, select X then go to number of copies 3 (as you want 3 extra so there will be 4 with the orig one) then set the angle to 90 and mode to copy (an instance will allow the orig to be modified and the other copies will update) and hit apply, should solve your porblem.

Cheers
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2006, 10:06 PM   #3
nbjacob
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i went to the duplicate tool but i dont see an axis choice or a degree choice. it allows me to choose the translation (x,y,z) points and the rotation (x,y,z) but almost impossible to get it to revolve around the axis precisely using this method. Is there anything like the Surfaces---> Revolve tool that will duplacte and revolve an object?
nbjacob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2006, 05:37 PM   #4
mrbozzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nesodden,Norway
Posts: 93
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks for the duplicating problem
i found out in the menu edit>duplicate it stands to the right for that text: control+d

im used to photoshop where its control+j
mrbozzo is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.