SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 29-09-2006, 03:59 AM   #1
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Render layers

OK, you know how with render layers you can assign a material override to the whole layer, or just to an individuaobject? Well how do you remove an override from an object? I looked in the docs, but can find nothing? I tried deleting some links from the hypergraph, but that wreaked havoc.

Anyone?

Thanks.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2006, 10:43 AM   #2
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

well if you're trying to do it for an individual object, i'm not sure, but you can right click on the render layer itself and the option 'remove material override' will be there...

but i'm pretty sure it's for the whole layer
__________________
Accept no substitutions.

Last edited by NeoStrider : 29-09-2006 at 11:53 AM.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2006, 10:18 PM   #3
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Thanks Neo, but that is for removing shader overrides that are applied to the whole layer and didn't have any effect on my objects. Thanks for trying though.

Anyone else?
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2006, 02:57 AM   #4
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

while trying to solve the problem at hand, i couldn't help but wonder... how did you actually override the materials on the object level to begin with?
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2006, 03:02 AM   #5
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

If you assign a shader to an object while you're in a render layer, it assigned it only for that layer.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 06:04 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.