Maya Training

Creating characters In Maya and Zbrush

Maya Training

Creating character renders in Maya 2017 and Arnold

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 27-10-2006, 08:40 AM   #1
farbtopf
Subscriber
 
farbtopf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: London
Posts: 520
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default skin weights problem

hi,

I've got a rigged character, now there is on vertice where it is impossible to set the smooth skin values to 0. Neither with the paint weights tool nor in the component editor. Whatever I do in the component editor, the total value spread around the joints is always one. Now if I zero one joint out the weight wanders to another and so forth until I end up having a value of 1 on one joint. If I zero that one out the values spread around my joints again and the whole thing starts from the beginning.

any ideas?
farbtopf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2006, 10:28 AM   #2
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

in your component editor, try turing off 'hold' in the smooth section for the attributes you dont wish to be painted.
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2006, 02:22 PM   #3
farbtopf
Subscriber
 
farbtopf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: London
Posts: 520
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

hmmm hold is off on all of them. I tried turning hold on on all but the one I wanted to zero out. After I did that I had a value of 0.03 on all my joints even though I have the max influence on 4 -pretty wired
farbtopf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2006, 04:46 PM   #4
epicor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default why?

i understand what you are trying to do but why would you want something with a 0 value? that means it will not follow the rig when you start animating it. it will just float in space as the rig moves off. if you are trying to avoid deformtion in that peice just put is to a full 1 on all pts to a static joint, like the pelvis if your model is a biped.
epicor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 03:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2017 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.