Maya Training

Creating characters In Maya and Zbrush

Maya Training

Creating character renders in Maya 2017 and Arnold

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 30-10-2006, 05:17 PM   #1
laiamulet
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question about global variables

I would like to ask if the global variable that I have defined in one of the scripts of the folder :my files>maya>scripts are loaded automatically, like happens with the procedures that I have defined in that folder, or if I have to define it each time that I'm using it,...
laiamulet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2006, 10:06 PM   #2
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

global variables will be defined when the script that defines them is called.

e.g.

myfile.mel:
<<

global float $a;

global proc myProc()
{
//$a will now be available to use in this function
global float $a;
//assign a value to $a
$a = 1.0;
}

>>
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2017 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.