SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Depth of Field Problem
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-11-2006, 11:49 AM   #1
raysullivan
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Dublin
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Depth of Field Problem

Hi guys, one problem i'm having here;

Everytime I select for DOF camera render the image comes out completely blurred. I've changed the f-stop and focus distance and focus scale with no joy. What am I missing here? Besides a life...
raysullivan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2006, 12:01 PM   #2
pbman
Subscriber
 
pbman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

lol

u need to set the corect dist ect

in a heads up display (can remem wat 1) but ne of them tells u the dist from camera of selected object and use this as a basis

use F1 help files to get other setting too
__________________
Now at SMU doing BSc 3D Computer Animation so its hard to get on here
My wire render tut http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=20973
pbman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2006, 01:36 PM   #3
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

another thing you can do (which is kinda helpful) is to create a locator. then in your camera attribute editor, click the checker box next to focus distance and go over to the utilities tab and create a 'distanceBetween' node.

now you need to open your connection editor (window>>general editors>>connection editor). select your camera and click the 'reload left' button. select the distanceBetween node (if you can't find it, open the hypershade and click on the utilities tab) and click the 'reload right' button. now select 'translate' for your camera and 'point1' for the utility node. after that, select the locator and click 'reload left' again. select the translate for the locator and 'point2' for the distanceBetween.

now instead of trying to figure out the value or inputting values every time you want to change your depth of field, all you gotta do is move the locator to where you want everything in focus. it takes a minute or so to set up, but makes life (or rendering, anyway...) easier

edit: this can also be done with a camera with aim, but moving the aim will obviously move the camera's center of interest (and change your composition).
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2006, 04:01 AM   #4
farbtopf
Subscriber
 
farbtopf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: London
Posts: 520
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

what I found easyest is to do depth of field in post.
farbtopf is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 06:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 02:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.