SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / SimplyMaya Tutorials / Simply Maya Tutorials / Dissapearing Image Planes
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-12-2006, 01:33 AM   #1
graphiac
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Dissapearing Image Planes

I've set up my modeling image planes and so far so good on the Oliphant tut until..... I saved and when it came back I couldn't see the texture I had applied to my Plane. 4 would do wireframe 5 would do shaded but when I hit 6 it just went a whitesh gray color. I'm working on Maya 7.0 of course this can get frustrating because you cannot continue with the tutorial without the image plane.
Thank You
graphiac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2006, 04:34 PM   #2
R-Tillery
Subscriber
 
R-Tillery's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ventura California
Posts: 966
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Open up your hyperdhade, hit your Textures tab, Drag drop your textures on to your plans.
R-Tillery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2006, 04:38 PM   #3
graphiac
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Am I doing something or is this a glitch

I've been using the hypershade middle mouse dragging using all the buttons and everything. I'm thinking now it just one of the glitches in maya 7
graphiac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2006, 06:21 PM   #4
R-Tillery
Subscriber
 
R-Tillery's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ventura California
Posts: 966
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

How many Texture files are in the browser? there should only be the images you put in the for the planes? if there are any white files or black, delete them.

Last edited by R-Tillery : 03-12-2006 at 06:23 PM.
R-Tillery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2006, 11:02 AM   #5
graphiac
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default There are none white or black but

I do have the default lambert in the hypershade that wouldn't throw it off would it?
graphiac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2006, 11:56 AM   #6
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Does your Lambert (or whatever material u used) have the image on it?

If not and the material is all white, then Maya is unable to locate the file, double click open the attribute editor go to the colour check box (it should have the box with an arrow pointing right if it is corectly connected) click it and in the file window locate your image file.
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2006, 02:00 PM   #7
R-Tillery
Subscriber
 
R-Tillery's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ventura California
Posts: 966
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

If your Image is in Targa format, it has extra files that come with it if you set it to 32 bit. go into the Hypershade -open up Textures tab- look for any files nodes with out a Picture in it and delete it. thats it. if all you have is pictures in and no blanks,, then Maya goofed up some how and you need to restart the Image planes over.
R-Tillery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-12-2006, 11:01 PM   #8
graphiac
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Right now I'm thinking that my graphics card is insuffecient
if that isn't the problem a new one still wouldent hurt beacuse I can't do the hardware render untill I get a new one which can become rather frustrating
graphiac is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Breakfast - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 4 19-04-2011 06:37 PM
Stratocaster - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 2 31-12-2010 09:30 AM
Mec Celeste - Original SM Gallery Image by Diego Ruiz Diaz Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 2 22-12-2010 04:58 AM
Rhinoman - Original SM Gallery Image by Septopus David Simply Maya Gallery 0 09-12-2010 01:42 PM
Physical Fitness Center Lounge - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 0 05-12-2010 11:32 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.