Maya Training

Creating characters In Maya and Zbrush

Maya Training

Creating character renders in Maya 2017 and Arnold

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 05-12-2006, 06:11 AM   #1
Naja
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Importing Different File Types

I'm using Maya 7, and was wondering if this was at all possible.

http://www.3drender.com/challenges/

I'm mainly looking at the haunted hallway, and, as it is only available as a Maya 8 file, it doesn't work for me. However, can I use Maya 7 to import any of the other file types there, and if so, how, would I go about doing it?

Thanks
Naja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2006, 06:22 AM   #2
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

try the obj file.
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2006, 06:23 AM   #3
Naja
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by NeoStrider
try the obj file.
I thought so. I tried importing it (I think) but nothing happened!

How exactly do I import the file (I probably wasn't doing it correctly)?

(Thanks for the quick reply)
Naja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2006, 06:31 AM   #4
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

first make sure you've unRARed the obj file.

then go file-->import (but click on the option box).

from there, change best guess to obj in the file type dropdown.

that should be all you need.
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2006, 07:42 AM   #5
Naja
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks - it worked first time (I wonder what I was doing wrong? )
Naja is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Importing Renders to AE Ozgalis Dynamics & Special Effects 1 08-12-2010 09:56 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2017 SimplyMaya - vBulletinŽ Copyright © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.