Maya Training

Creating characters In Maya and Zbrush

Maya Training

Creating character renders in Maya 2017 and Arnold

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 08-01-2007, 09:31 AM   #1
Razzie
Registered User
 
Razzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Holland
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Subdiv problem.

Hi there. I have encountered a problem while modeling for sub D's. at a sertain pont when i merge serveral vertexes maya wont convert my model to sub'd. I cant vind anything about it in the help files.
So is this my fault or maya's?
Razzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 09:47 AM   #2
enhzflep
Subscriber
 
enhzflep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 313
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hard to say, but if you could convert it to subds before you merged the verts, you may find that Deleting the History will help.

Failing that, open the script editor, and look for the error message that pops up after you attempt to convert. I commonly get stopped by nonmanifold faces or because I use a shelf button to do the conversion, and the number of faces specified in the shelf command are not enough for the model I'm working on.
S.
enhzflep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 01:40 PM   #3
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,250
Thanks: 40
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

First run the clean up command while still in poly mode, then merge the verts again, delete history, then convert. Also check the base mesh faces setting in the convert menu, if this number is lower than your poly count it wont convert, so just up the value.

Cheers
Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2007, 03:58 PM   #4
Razzie
Registered User
 
Razzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Holland
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks Jay, The cleanup did it. Just had to clean up nonmanifold edges. Dont know what they are tho .
Razzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 03:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2017 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.