SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-03-2007, 01:58 PM   #1
roco5000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default New maya noob

I am trying to teach myself maya and have bought the book Introducing maya 8: 3d for beginners. and allready i have some problems wich i think might be because I have 8.5.

1. It tells me to click on blah-blah-sphere and it'll appear at the origin, the thing is my version asks me to clik and drag, any-one know how to change this?

2. It says to hit R to bring up the scale maipulater all it does is bring up the axis arrows for scale and the central sqaure to scale up everything at once. How do i make it to bring up the dialogue box for scaling?


cheers.


ps, i'm not a complete 3d noob, we used vectorworks in school and I was teaching the teachers new techniques at times.
roco5000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 08:56 PM   #2
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

The answer to question 1 is to turn off interactive creation which you can find near the bottom of the create menu when creating polygons or nurbs

ie create/ Polygon Primatives or Create / nurbs Primatives.

The primative will then appear at the origin with a scale of 1.


I am not exactly sure what you mean by question 2 but if you turn on your channel box by going to Display/UI Elements and checkmarking Channel box/ layer Editor, after you select an object and hit the R key to bring up your scale manipulator you can add the values you want in the channel box manually or watch the scale values while scaling with the manipulator.

hope this helps regards J.S.
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 09:43 PM   #3
roco5000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

its the way its worded sounded like you can press are with the "attribute editor" open and that'll change that box into the manipulater, which it doesnt for me. grr allready pissed off with this book! and stuck on the easiest thing possible, if it was vectorworks i would have done this in 5mins :headbang:
roco5000 is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 12:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 10:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 08:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 10:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 02:45 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.