SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Batch render, ghost frames
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-03-2007, 02:13 PM   #1
boltneck
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Batch render, ghost frames

When i batch render a Avi film i get a gost effect of frames following as it plays. I have no idea what is going on here, has anyone else got any idea.

Thank you for any help you can give.

Ben

Please see example of what it looks like when i play it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	example1.jpg
Views:	135
Size:	10.2 KB
ID:	33251  
boltneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 06:26 PM   #2
enhzflep
Subscriber
 
enhzflep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 313
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yeah, simple.

Stop watching it in Media 'Player'.

Get the free version of Quicktime and all that crap will dissapear. It's just the way Maya encodes AVIs - nothing to do with the way it renders them.

But if you really wanna keep using that player, just re-encode the flie before viewing - though that'd be the undesireable option since the vid would have been compressed twice then.

Best method is to output single frames from batch render then stick them together with whatever software takes your fancy.

EDIT: Just make sure you use a lossless compression format for the single frames though - jpg just aint going to cut it. TGAs are a good option, btw.

-S
enhzflep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 06:29 PM   #3
boltneck
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok nice one, ill just get quick time then, and if i need to change the format ill use adobe premier. Right college work continues .

Ben

Quick edit tho, when i render a avi on my laptop it plays fine i dont get that problem at all. Though my laptop is on vista and my main computer is xp?>

Last edited by boltneck : 04-03-2007 at 06:31 PM.
boltneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 06:31 PM   #4
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Top Tip never render avi files form Maya directly. They are awful. Instead render out frames of jpgs, tifs or tga files then use a app to create the movie.
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 06:04 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.